Upcoming WBCSD Engagements

We continue to work with our members in driving transformative business solutions at scale to show action leadership and accelerate the transition to a sustainable, inclusive and thriving economy good for the people and planet.

As in previous years, WBCSD will therefore lead business engagement at key international platforms. The following events will constitute key milestones in advancing this ambitious yet indispensable agenda.

High-level Political Forum on Sustainable Development (HLPF) 2020, Online, 7-16 July 2020

The 2020 meeting of the High-level Political Forum on Sustainable Development (HLPF), the United Nations’ central platform for annual review of the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals, will be held on 7-16 July 2020, under the theme “Accelerated action and transformative pathways: realizing the decade of action and delivery for sustainable development”. The forum will include a three-day ministerial segment from 14 to 16 July, where 47 countries will carry out their Voluntary National Reviews (VNRs) on SDG implementation. It will adopt a Ministerial Declaration as its outcome.

Building on the success of previous years, WBCSD and the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) will once again jointly convene HLPF’s flagship business event: Chief Sustainability Officers for SDGs, Building back better: navigating business risks and opportunities in a post-COVID world. The online event will take place on Tuesday 14 July 2020, at 8:30 – 10:00 EDT (14:30 – 16:00 CEST) and will bring together business leaders and sustainability champions from across the world to explore lessons from the COVID-19 crisis, and how these translate into risks and business opportunities for building back better. You can find more information about WBCSD’s engagement at the HLPF and registration details HERE.

United Nations General Assembly (UNGA), New York, 15-30 September 2020

The month of September will be marked by a series of key events in New York including the commemoration of the 75th Anniversary of the United Nations on 21 September and the United Nations Summit on Biodiversity at the level of Heads of State and Government on 22-23 September 2020. Under the theme of Urgent Action on Biodiversity for Sustainable Development, the Summit will provide a unique opportunity to demonstrate ambition to accelerate action on biodiversity and raise momentum for the adoption of an effective post-2020 global biodiversity framework at CBD COP 15.

Building on the success of last year’s events, WBCSD will have a broad presence across these weeks, including the second edition of our CEO Networking Dinner on 21 September, hosted at The Benjamin Hotel. More information will be available shortly. For any inquiries, please contact events@wbcsd.org.

WBCSD Annual General Meeting 2020, 13 October 2020

Due to COVID-19, WBCSD’s in-person Council Meeting in Tokyo has been postponed to 26-29 October 2021. However, WBCSD’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) for 2020 will take place as an online meeting on 13 October 2020 according to the following schedule:

15:00 – 17:00 JST (08:00 – 10:00 am CEST) – WBCSD ExCo Meeting (ExCo only)
17:00 – 17:30 JST (10:00 – 10:30 am CEST) – Networking break
17:30 – 18:30 JST (10:30 – 11:30 am CEST) – Council Member Roundtable (Council Members only)
18:30 – 19:00 JST (11:30 – 12:00 pm CEST) – Networking break
19:00 – 20:00 JST (12:00 pm – 13:00 CEST) – Annual General Meeting (open to LDs as observers)

For any inquiries, please contact events@wbcsd.org.

United Nations Biodiversity Conference (Convention on Biological Diversity COP 15), postponed, new dates to be confirmed

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, CBD Acting Executive Secretary Elizabeth Mrema announced that the dates for this meeting would be adjusted. The meeting was originally scheduled to take place from 15-28 October 2020 in Kunming, China. More information will be available shortly.

UNFCCC COP 26, Glasgow, postponed, new dates to be confirmed

The COP26 UN climate change conference set to take place in Glasgow in November has been postponed due to COVID-19.  Dates for a rescheduled conference in 2021, hosted in Glasgow by the UK in partnership with Italy, will be set out in due course. You can find out more here.

As in previous years, WBCSD will continue leading business engagement throughout this critical process and more information about engagement opportunities will be communicated as soon as possible.

IUCN World Conservation Congress, Marseille, 7-15 January 2021

In light of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) and the Government of France have decided to postpone the IUCN World Conservation Congress 2020 in Marseille to 7 to 15 January 2021 from its original date of 11-19 June. For more information on preparation, program, logistics and more, please refer to this page.

IUCN and France are working with summit organizers to confirm new dates for all summits, with the goal for the summits to take place during the Congress. New dates and any other updates regarding the summits will be announced shortly.

WBCSD Council Meeting 2021, Tokyo, 26-29 October 2021

WBCSD’s 2021 Council Meeting will take place on 26-29 October in the vibrant city of Tokyo. The preliminary agenda structure is as follows:

  • Tuesday 26 October 2021: WBCSD Executive Committee Meeting, Council Member sessions followed by the Council Dinner
  • Wednesday 27 October 2021: Council Day incl. AGM and Program Board Meetings
  • Thursday 28 October 2021: Working sessions
  • Friday 29 October 2021: Working sessions & field trips

More information about the meeting and registration details will be communicated to WBCSD members and partners. For any inquiries, please contact events@wbcsd.org.

 

 

Copyright © 2020
World Business Council
for Sustainable Development

All rights reserved
Privacy Policy

Share This